OLD BLOG: Q. How many burly men does it take to open a jar of solvent?

 

[July 15, 2008, 9.58pm]

 

A. Five, with about half an hour of huffing and puffing!

 

Believe it or not the excitement outlined above was probably the most entertaining 30mins of my day. As you may, or may not, know I’m currently working in the development labs of a coating company, where I make and modify coating recipes. This, on some occasions, involves nasty headache inducing solvents, which are really sticky and so, unfortunately for me, makes the lids of the storage jars more than difficult to remove.

 

But anyway, to the point I’m trying make. When I asked for help all five of the gentlemen who work in the labs jumped to my aid, however I noticed that while the three chaps which were grey/greying were putting their all in, pulling out the hammers, saws, clamps and numerous other tricks of the trade, the younger (probably stronger) guys were less involved, perhaps trying to avoid the embarrassment of not being able to crack the jar open.

 

While the last thing I want is for a male to be condescending towards me, I still rate gentlemanliness, and hope that this isn’t a sign that while the older generation don’t think twice about helping a damsel in distress, the future older generation will be less giving with their time and energy. That would be a mighty shame.

Leave a Reply

