Coconut Milk Fudge

I have a huge sweet tooth, although I’ve never taken the time to make ‘sweets’ in the traditional sense – I clearly crave cake a lot more!

After reading a recipe for Coconut Milk Fudge though it seamed achievable and, as it happened, not too time consuming. My only down fall was not completing the recipe with my undivided attention, as while distracted by a bit of laugh-out-loud TV I added 2 tablespoons of syrup as opposed to 2 TEAspoons – rookie mistake! Still despite the fudge being a bit softer than expected the over all product tasted good and still ended up pretty fudge like after a long stint in the fridge.

Although, I was able to take a rather different approach to fudge presentation. Seeing as most of the mix was meant for me, after making a few (near) perfect fudge balls coated in either grated dark chocolate or roasted coconut for a few deserving friends, I simply kept the bowl in my fridge next to the two bowls of coating and whenever I fancied a dollop of fudge made one there and then. The result – a bit rough and ready (as photographed below), but it still tastes as it should and, well, I may as well go mental while I have space in my fridge and no risk of the mix being scoffed before I get to it…

 1. Add all the ingredients (except those required for coating, obviously) into a pan.
2. Bring to the boil
3. Reduce the heat and then whisk until ‘fudgy’ (I was whisking for about 45mins – but that could be due to the aforementioned syrup mishap)
4. Once ‘fudgy’ place into a bowl and allow to cool before placing in the fridge a good few hours

 5. Using two tea spoons create little fudge balls and roll in desired coating. YUM.

A less perfect version of Smitten Kitchen’s.

Ingredients
1 cup Condensed Milk
1/2 cup Coconut milk (unsweetened)
2 Tbsps Unsalted butter
2 TEAsps Golden syrup
Roasted shredded coconut (unsweetened)
Grated dark chocolate

Leave a Reply

