Savoury Cake, Who’d Have Thought it?…

I consider myself somewhat of a cake connoisseur, but savoury cakes had been completely off my radar until seeing this pistachio, goats cheese and prune cake. Ingredients in hand I proceeded with an open mind…

Even now, as I write this, I’m unsure of my verdict. Perhaps because I have nothing to compare it to, or maybe because it simply didn’t tailor to my sweet tooth. I have no complaints around the ingredients used and the sponge was lovely and moist, but over all it didn’t excite me! In all honesty, I was probably eating away looking forward to getting to the ‘bits’ in the sponge rather than enjoying the cake as a whole.

I’m yet to give up on the idea though…next stop:

  • Adding more nuts, cheese and fruit to the batter;
  • Seasoning the batter more; and/or
  • Adapting the recipe to accommodate cheddar and spinach.

1. Lovely ingredients.

2. Lovely ingredients chopped.

3. Batter, done.

4. Bake, 180°C [60min] until a skewer is removed clean.

5. Slice and enjoy.

Recipe followed from BBC Food.

One response to “Savoury Cake, Who’d Have Thought it?…

  1. Pingback: Cheese & spinach cake | Life...

Leave a Reply

