Bitter Sweet Goodness.

Image

Lemons are bitter, but lemon macaroons are perfectly sweet. A friend from work and I managed to squeeze in a ‘early bird’ baking sesh yesterday and the results (which came to completion just in time for lunch) were well worth the effort. We threw together chocolate woopie pies along with raspberry and lemon macaroons.

I was mainly in charge of the lemon macaroons (shown above) and having never attempted macaroons before – having assumed them complicated – I was pleasantly surprised. Although my piping skills leave a lot to be desired and I probably should have left them in the oven a little longer the end results were more than edible. Having now got over my preconceptions and realised that they’re basically meringues with ground almonds thrown in for good measure I’ll definitely be hunting out more recipes and working to perfect my piping skills!

Recipe from here: Lemon Macaroons.

Leave a Reply

